The first thing I thought about when reading Linda’s prompt was actually “sophomore” but by Kungfu Panda (sorry we just saw the second 😉 film of the series) I am not from the United States and therefore have no clue what it really means. Besides I suffer from occasional insomnia (yes, I know this word does not start with s but it has one in it for your information 😉 ) and I just cannot get myself to google it.

My mind is set on sssssleep. Long, restful sssssleep. I cannot remember the last time when I have slept and woke up really refreshed. Does not matter, when I go to ssssssleep or how long I sssssleep: I just wake up feeling like a rock has fallen on me in my dreams and I stumble (yes another word starting with “S” well done! you spotted it) through the day like a zombie.

Sometimes it is a bit worse. Especially when I have a good book in my grasp. My latest sssssleepless night was because of Susan Wiggs “Summer at Willow Lake” (no, no don’t say it, DON’T…. 😉 ) Epic book but to be honest that usually doesn’t stop me that much from sssssleeping. It’s when my mental health goes downwards that I use any excuse to stay up and not have to face my haywire emotions. But never mind that.

The last few days I only had a few hours of sssssleep per night and that is how my consciousness swings now: To and fro. To an fro and only one word left on my mind: sssssleep!…..

Yes, there was more I wanted to write. Somewhere in my consciousness, I am sure it’s there but ……… sssssnore 😉

Description for visually impaired readers: black and white photo of a wooden sculpture: a sleeping woman on a bench

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday. Please head over to her brilliant blog and find more exciting Stream of Consciousness posts:

THE FRIDAY REMINDER AND PROMPT FOR SOCS October 11/14