Linda’s prompt for today’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “opposite”. Please visit “The Friday Reminder and Prompt for SoCS January 10/15” for rules and other brilliant posts.

When I was writing yesterday’s posts for “Just Jot It January” I was wondering how people can get so frustrated that they lose all restrictions and start killing.

Pondering this question a little longer I felt that that might happen quite easily. Let me explain:

I am an EU immigrant in Great Britain. One perk of being an EU member is that you can move freely in EU-member states and work wherever you want (if you find a job of course). I’m in the country a little longer than 7 1/2 years. I had the financial means for two months living and after that, I would not have gotten any help neither from Germany nor from Great Britain. I got a job after one month and have been with the company ever since. I have never gotten any help from the British State at all. No job seekers allowance nor anything else. Even when I was homeless I was not eligible for any help. It was British people who took it upon themselves to help me out of their own pockets. The state has never given me a penny. I am paying taxes and national insurance for 7 years and 7 months so whatever NHS help I get I have already paid for. Most EU immigrants situation is like mine. And many British people never had a job ergo never paid taxes or national insurance but still, get any help they need.

Last year Nigel Farage and his UKIP (right-wing political party in Great Britain) caused a great stir in Britain making out that EU immigrants are a drain on British State finances because supposedly they get so many benefits that there is nothing left for the British. I have been looking into the numbers the government and other organisations are giving and nothing supports UKIP’s stand on immigration. The terrible thing is that more mainstream parties started to blow into the same horn just to get voters back from UKIP. Besides, Nigel Farage’s Wife is from Germany and has been paid for by the British State as his aide for a long time. She might not be now but she was. So his own immigrant wife has done what he blames immigrants for. (That’s probably where he got it from!)

And I am angry! I am very, very angry about such nonsense said about me and other immigrants who have an enormous part in keeping the British economy going. I have been so angry I was close to taking action in one way or another. Aggressive action even though I do not condone violence in any way.

My reality is the total opposite of how Nigel Farage and the likes of him depict me. I can only guess what that discrepancy does to young people. How can they feel included in a society who thinks they are only scoundrels and scroungers and a danger to society?

I can understand why young men in the wrong company go the violent way. Why they get radicalised. They probably will regret their actions when they are older depending if they survive of course. But when you are young and passionate you do a lot of stupid things. When terrorists get a grip on you those stupid things have horrendous consequences not only for

2014 SoCS badge

your life and that of your family but also for the whole society.

It is time to stop polarising citizens of one’s countries. It is time to stop looking for easy answers and it is time to talk. Even to those, you do not understand. Especially to those! And believe me: Even though I can understand some of the mechanisms that radicalise people I do not condone any of it. The only way that has ever changed anything was non-violence: Martin Luther King and Mahatma Gandhi have proven that!