Can I really write a post about “can”?

Maybe I should leave it like that LOL. It would fulfil Linda’s challenge to start and end the post with “can”. However, I feel like writing a proper Stream of Consciousness post. I woke this morning at something about 4.30. Tossing and turning the whole night because our neighbour’s TV again was rather loud and my neck hurts. Currently, I am training myself to start the day with gratefulness. So my muddled mind tried to find things that are great and writing this I suddenly got distracted because I thought what else than “I can” and “a can” is there that I could write about.

Turns out there used to be a German experimental rock band called Can. Never heard of them. Checking them out they remind a little of “The Doors”


Video Credit: Can on CARRS via YouTube

There is also the so-called CAN bus. Now if you are not a computer geek you fall for the same idea that I did. It’s not a vehicle even though Wikipedia confusingly says:  “Controller Area Network (CAN bus) is a robust vehicle bus standard designed to allow…” Yes, that is where they lost me too. However, apparently, the thing is used in cars after all 😉 .

After that, I stumbled over the CAN Group. And I am even more mystified than with the CAN bus. Listen to this: CAN GROUP is a market leader in life of asset integrity services with our business streams CAN, ENGTEQ and VENTEQ providing a comprehensive and integrated asset integrity service to deliver innovative solutions to the energy industry worldwide. My poor mind that I just managed to wake up is totally muddled again.

Can-online sounds so much better: As far as I understand it is an organisation that helps charities and social enterprises to sort out problems with premises, skills and finances. They have their twentieth anniversary but again I’ve never heard of them.

I do love to explore things and if I’d be born 200 years earlier I certainly would have gone off to Africa or Asia to discover hidden mysteries. As I am a late child of the twentieth century I have to explore what the internet has to offer me. So, on we go…

Manchester doesn’t only have worker bees but also a CAN. It is the Community Art North West organisation which offers cultural and creative programmes for the North West of England. If you are around go and have a look. It sounds great what they offer.

One thing I remembered without the internet is the wonderful, motivating, gorgeous and not at all annoying when your bosses go on about it all day long “Can-Do attitude”. I love to have a can-do attitude however, it’s a little difficult when your mind doesn’t play ball and throws all the depression negativity at you that is possible. Ah, well, those were the days my friends…. 😉

CanCan. Oh my, how could I oversee the CanCan. I definitely should have ended this post with CanCan but there are so many more things to explore…

video credit: Mirage via YouTube

If you intend to become a celebrity you might come across The CAN Group which is apparently a management, PR and I don’t know what else group. They look rather sleek and I am pleased to see that they have worked with the likes of Peter Andre, Amy Childs and Gary Lucy. Who is Gary Lucy????

There is no end to the CAN miracles!!!! See here the CAN. File type? Yes, there is a CAN. file type! Have a look here. Looks like it is a way of en- and decrypting your files. Yeeeeehaaaaaa!

Right the CAN Bus turns up time and time again but I am not repeating this. We have started to use Ecosia as our search engine because they plant trees when you search with them. And I like trees. You can see that with the new design of this blog. Have I mentioned I have a new design on my blog? Ok, back to Ecosia. You can put their link in your settings as your preferred search engine and I think you need to sign up with them too and then they plant trees all over the world. I’ve signed up a long time ago so when I came back to them I didn’t have anything to do. I am sure you can figure it out. Here is the link: Ecosia Search Shame there isn’t a can in there.

Why was I writing about Ecosia? No CAN in Ecosia as far as I can see. Oops, I start to repeat myself. Oh yes, of course… even though Ecosia works with Google they are not as efficient as them so I am bound to see lots of stuff that doesn’t really has anything to do with Cans. There are modals (ok can and can’t are modals), car finance and even the government turns up to tell me what I can and can’t drive.

So, back to the can-do attitude: CAN-DO.ORG works in disaster relief. They describe their mission as” CAN-DO (Compassion into Action Network – Direct Outcome Organization) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that donors can count on to get the job done. From natural disasters to humanitarian crises, we provide critical aid to communities who need it most in a timely and transparent manner. We are not tied down by politics or bureaucracy, and do not delay delivery of lifesaving resources by getting caught up in the red tape. We are dedicated to providing lasting, self-sustainable solutions for people facing some of the world’s most critical problems. We go anywhere in the world and do whatever it takes to get the job done.” Sounds alright to me. Still never heard of them.

Do you get tired of those cans? I start to. We don’t even use a lot of cans. Our mission is to reduce our waste as much as possible. And while cans might not be as bad for our environment as plastic is we try to get around the whole lot of it. So to not annoy you too much I find one more can in the deep ends of the internet and then I let you go to find some other more creative posts than mine over at Linda’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday. You can find the link at the end of the post.

Oh my goodness I think I found the perfect link to end this post. Abbreviation.com and the question “What does CAN stand for”. There are so many more things to discover if we can!

😉

SoCS badge by Pamela, at https://achronicalofhope.com/
SoCS badge by Pamela, at https://achronicalofhope.com/

This post takes part in Linda G. Hill’s intriguing Stream of Consciousness Saturday. Please head over and find more brilliant posts in the comments!

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing (typos can be fixed), and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. I will post the prompt here on my blog every Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The,’” or will simply be a single word to get you started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read all of them! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later or go to the previous week by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

I had, Linda, thanks 🙂